Note: Our Tai Chi Chuan showcase video is currently offline but will be uploaded to vimeo shortly.

About Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan


Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan is the style of Tai Chi Chuan taught in our school. It is a Traditional style of Tai Chi Chuan (Taijiquan) in that it includes all the principles of the art as described in the Great Classics of Tai Chi Chuan - the canon of texts dating back hundreds of years written in classical Chinese by the Great Past Masters of the art.


These principles constitute the very essence of genuine Tai Chi Chuan and include:


- Graceful and flowing movements which may be soft and slow, or fast and hard;

- Use of the mind and internal force and not physical strength;

- Rotation of the waist as the key driver of form;

- No beginning and no ending in our movement;

- Differentiating between Yin and Yang;

- Stillness in movement and movement in stillness;

- Using minimum force against maximum strength ... and many more.


Practitioners of the art attain all the benefits for which genuine Tai Chi Chuan is renowned:


Health and vitality;

Combat efficiency;

Relief from stress;

Personal development and a deep appreciation of life.


The Training Syllabus


Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan training is structured and systematic. It is divided into twelve separate levels with each level taking approximatley three months to complete. A level is only complete when the student has acquired the skills and techniques relevant to the level, and has learned to apply them successfully.


The syllabus is detailed and comprehensive, and offers students the framework in which they can enrich their lives through practice of this wonderful art.


Level 1: Fundamentals of Tai Chi Chuan


Form: Stances. fundamental footwork and basic Taijiquan forms.

Application: Taijiquan techniques to overcome simple combat situations.

Force: Wuji Stance, Lifting Water, Three-Circle Stance, and Grasping Sparrow's Tail, Leg Stretching

Philosophy: Dimensions, aims and brief history.



From Wuji to Taiji, and back to Wuji.

Movement from the waist.

Differentiating between yin and yang.

One-pointed mind and energy flow.

Basic Taijiquan patterns.

Internal force training.


Level 2: Basic Taijiquan Set


Form: “White Crane Flaps Wings".

Application: Pushing Hands and simple combat application.

Force: Induced energy flow.

Philosophy: Taijiquan for health and for combat.



Unity of form, energy and mind.

The principle of yin-yang.


Level 3: Techniques of Pushing Hands


Form: "White Snake Shoots Venom".

Application: Pushing Hands and Combat Application.

Force: Flow of movement, Sensing ability, Using the opponent's strength.

Philosophy: Principles of internal force training.



Techniques from "White Snake Shoots Venom".

Pushing from front, left, right and back.

Importance of good stances.

Movement from the waist.

Four tahils against thousand katis.

Flowing with the opponent to overcome him..


Level 4: Tactics of Pushing Hands


Form: “Green Dragon Shoots Pearl”.

Application: Combat application from “Green Dragon”.

Force: Flowing with the opponent.

Philosophy: Difference between techniques and tactics



Passive and active advantages.

Tactic of continuous attacks.

Tactic of confusing moves.

Tactic of instantaneous counter.

Tactic of interuption.


Level 5: Da Shou or Striking Hands


Form: “Black Bear Sinks Hips”.

Application: Combat application from “Black Bear”.

Force: Breath co-ordination and energy flow.

Philosophy: Principles of attack and defence.



Four categories of attacks.

The principle of safety forst.

Soft against hard, and vice versa.

Circular against straight, and vice versa.

Starting later but arriving earlier.


Level 6: Cultivation for Health, Combat and Spiritual Development


Form: "Carry Tiger Back to Mountain".

Application: Combat application of “Carry Tiger”.

Force: Abdominal Breathing.

Philosophy: Use of Strategies.



Strategies based on "Know Thyself, Know your Opponent".


Level 7: Flowing Water Floating Clouds


Form: Flowing Water Floating Clouds Set.

Application: Combat application of Flowing Water.

Force: Solo performance as well as sparring with picture-perfect form, force and speed but without panting.

Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.



This set, which is probably closer in spirit and form to the original Taijiquan practiced by past masters like Zhang San Feng and Chen Wang Ting than many Taijiquan sets practiced today, enables us to attain good health, combat efficiency and spiritual fulfillment.


Level 8: Wudang Sword


Form: Wudang sword set.

Application: Combat application of Wudang sword.

Force: Channelling energy to the tip of a sword.

Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.



Safety, certainty and decisiveness.

Avoiding strength and attacking weakness.


Level 9: Taijiquan Sabre


Form: Taijiquan Sabre set.

Application: Application of Taijiquan Sabre.

Force: Accuracy and power of chosen weapon.

Philosophy: Characteristics of major weapons.



Major weapons -- staff, sabre, spear, sword, dagger, Big Knife, trident, soft whip.


Level 10: Unarmed against Armed


Form: Empty Hands Enter White Blade.

Application: Unarmed against dagger, staff and knife.

Force: Countering feign moves.

Philosophy: The principles and practice of Apparent and Real.



"Over Bridge, Flow with Water".


Level 11: Single Unarmed against Multiple Unarmed


Form: Tiger Enters Herd of Sheep.

Application: Single unarmed against multiple unarmed.

Force: "Bamboo Man" or "Through the Woods".

Philosophy: "Back-wall battle" and "Dodge-hit battle".



Agility, stamina and endurance


Level 12: Single Unarmed and Armed against Multiple Armed


Form: Dodge Hit.

Application: Single unarmed and armed against multiple armed.

Force: Dodging skills and using enemy as shields.

Philosophy: "Catch the Leader First" and "Break Through the Weakest".



Importance of mind and energy control.


new scan drawings 1